By Ben Musanje

11th October 2021


Government has disbursed 6 billion shillings to support over 1500 new cohort of student loan beneficiaries and at least 100 continuing students in the Academic year 2021/2022.


Addressing the journalists in Kampala about issues concerning application to the 8th Cohort of the Students’ Loan Scheme, Michael O. Wanyama , the Executive Director, the Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) says that Students’ Loan shall cover tuition fees, functional fees and any other  fees required by the Higher Learning Institutions and it also shall cover Aids and Appliances for Persons with Disabilities.


He further emphasized that the beneficiary is expected to cover their welfare expenses but the scheme shall strictly be awarded to students joining Higher Education institutions in First year or students joining their Final Year of study under the Continuing Students Loan facility which commences this Academic Year.


The eligible beneficiaries are the Ugandan students who have been admitted under the listed undergraduate Diploma and Degree programmes for the Academic Year 2021/22 in the Public Universities, Private Chartered Universities and the listed Other Tertiary.


Since the establishment of the HESFB in 2014, the Board has so far awarded loans to a total of 11,187 beneficiaries (9,632 undergraduate degrees and 1,555 undergraduate diplomas) beneficiaries to study 130 degree programmes and 76 undergraduate diploma courses mainly in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) programmes.


Universities and tertiary institutions of learning are expected to reopen in November this year.

Tuesday 12th October 2021 06:18:44 AM