By Francis Lubega

29th Sept 2022

The opposition party Uganda People’s Congress-UPC has lost the East African Legislative Assembly-EALA slot to the independents in the highly contested election race.

All six (6) ruling National Resistance Movement –NRM candidates, two independents and an opposition candidate sailed to victory at Parliament in Kampala on Thursday.

The election winners for the nine slots allocated to Uganda are NRM’s Rose Akol who got 422 votes, Denis Namara with 415 votes, James Kakooza with 403 votes, Stephen Odong with 403 votes, Paul Musamalai with 401 votes and Mary Mugyenyi with 367 votes.

Other three slots have been shared by the Democratic Party’s Gerald Siranda who picked 233 votes and the two independents, Veronica Kadogo with 403 and Jacqueline Amongi with 338 votes.

However, out of the 478 total numbers of votes casted, 11 votes were declared invalid at the end of the voting exercise.

The Speaker of Parliament Anita Among announced the winners and directed the Clerk to gazette their names immediately.

Once sworn in this December the newly elected EALA candidates will serve until 2027.

The process which was boycotted by the National Unity Platform- NUP which is the largest opposition party in parliament had attracted 28 candidates with four opposition political parties fielding candidates to battle for 9 slots for Uganda in the regional assembly.

The Forum for Democratic Change –FDC’s candidate Harlod Kaija alongside the Justice Forum- JEEMA’s Muhammad Katerega and UPC’s Fred Ebil were unsuccessful.

Friday 30th September 2022 06:52:00 AM