By Ben Musanje

13th Nov 2022


The Catholic Bishops have re-elected the Bishop of Kiyinda- Mityana Rt. Rev. Anthony Zziwa as the Chairman of the Uganda Episcopal Conference –UEC.


This has been announced by the UEC Secretary General, Msgr. John Baptist Kauta after the November plenary for the Catholic Bishops in Kampala.


In 2018, Bishop Zziwa succeeded the Archbishop of Gulu Ecclesiastical Province His Grace John Baptist Odama who headed the conference for two terms of four years each.

Msgr. Kauta says that the conference has replaced Rt. Rev. Bishop Robert Muhirwa of Fort portal diocese with Rt. Rev Santos Linos Wanock of Lira diocese as the Deputy Chairperson of UEC.

Msgr. Kauta, also the Secretary General of the Uganda Catholic Secretariat has been retained as the UEC Secretary General while Emmanuel Cardinal Wamala has been appointed the Patron of the Catholic Bishops’ Executive Board which consists of the Archbishops of the four Ecclesiastical provinces.

Caritas Justice and Peace Commission to be headed by Archbishop of Gulu, Most Rev. John Baptist Odama while the Education Commission will be led by Rt. Rev Rafael Wokorach of Nebbi diocese yet the Seminaries Formation will be under the leadership of Bishop Francis Kibira.


The Personnel Board which is responsible for appointing the Executive Officers and their deputies at the Catholic Secretariat will be headed by Archbishop Lambert Bainomugisha of Mbarara diocese while the Bishop Emeritus of Lira diocese, Rt. Rev Giuseppe Franzeli will continue leading the Social Communication Commission.


Bishop Vincent Kirabo for Hoima diocese to be the in charge of the Pastoral Department, Archbishop Lambert Bainomugisha to head the Canon Law department while Health department to be led by Bishop Robert Muhiirwa and the Doctrine Department to be supervised by Bishop Sabino Odoki of Arua.


Tuesday 15th November 2022 07:06:10 AM