By Francis Lubega

20th Sept 2022

Parliament has closed the Easter African Legislative Assembly-EALA election nomination exercise with 28 candidates registered to compete in the race.


The Nomination Committee chaired by the Clerk to Parliament Adolf Mwesigye registered 14 candidates who included the six from NRM, one from each of Uganda People’s Congress –UPC and Democratic Party- DP.


Fred Ebil represents UPC, Gerald Siranda from DP, Mohammed Kateregga from Justice Forum -JEEMA and independents including Jacqueline Amongin, Dr. Dennius Kapyata and Daniel Muwonge among others.


The NRM candidates included; Rose Akol, James Kakooza, Mary Mugyenti, Paul Musamali, Denis Namara, and George Odongo.


However, one Jeremiah Kamulari Birungi of People’s Progressive Party-PPP didn’t show up in-spite of him having paid the nomination fee of Shs3million.


Now, the candidates await a report from the nomination committee to confirm those who have fulfilled the requirements for them to start open campaigns before the election time on September 29th.


Uganda has nine slots in EALA out of which NRM has 6 and the other three positions shared by the opposition political parties represented in parliament and independents.


However, speaking to some of the nominees both from NRM and Opposition, they re-emphasized to strengthen the cooperation amongst the East African member states and reciprocate to the needs of the community by implementing the present protocol’s and treaties.


Tuesday 20th September 2022 07:35:38 PM