By Francis Lubega

3rd April 2024

Parliament has this afternoon sworn in the newly elected Dokolo district Woman MP Sarah Aguti after winning the by-election of 21st March 2024.

Aguti who subscribes to the Ugandan People’s Congress replaces the fallen Cecilia Ogwal who passed away on the 18th /01/2024 due to cancer in India.

She won her contestants by 23,044 votes, followed by NRM Janet Rose Adongo with 14,001 votes and others.

She was welcomed by the Deputy speaker Thomas Tayebwa and handed a constitution and the book of rules of procedures.

Meanwhile, the newly appointed Ex-Official Ministers have been sworn in and these included the State Minister of Northern Uganda Kenneth Omona, and the State Minister of Youth and Children Affairs Balaam Barugahara.

The two have also been welcomed by the Deputy Speaker Tayebwa and handed to the administration instruments including the constitution of Uganda and the booklet of Rules of Procedure.

Also, the Agule county MP from Palisa District David Ochwa has been sworn in after the Mbale high court nullified the candidature of Polycarp Ogwari on grounds of not having requisite academic qualifications for nomination as a member of parliament.


Wednesday 3rd April 2024 07:07:39 PM