By; Our reporter

30th June 2020

Leaders and Residents of the 6 municipalities that are to be called cities with effect from midnight today are warming up for celebrations for the city status having come true.

The first six are Gulu Jinja, Arua, Fort portal, Mbale and Masaka municipalities that by tomorrow July 1st 2020 will be fully operational as cities.

However Police in Gulu have blocked the move the Municipal officials to display fireworks to celebrate the elevation to a city status as it had been planned according to the Speaker, Peter Okwera Onen.

According to the plan, the fireworks display was scheduled to take place at Lacor Trading Centre, Layibi Roundabout, Laliya, Bungatira and Unyama, which are main entry points into the municipality.

However, the Aswa Region Police headquarters has issued a statement cautioning the municipality against the fireworks display, saying it is illegal.

Patrick Jimmy Okema, the Aswa River Region Police Spokesperson, says the Inspector General of Police, Martin Okoth Ochola hasn’t sanctioned the fireworks display, adding that anyone found conducting it will be arrested and charged accordingly.

Okema also says the fireworks display will likely attract crowds, something that contravenes the Health Ministry Covid19 preventive guidelines.

Tuesday 30th June 2020 05:07:46 PM