By Francis Lubega

19th June 2024


The Speaker Anita Among has rejected the opposition’s proposal to replace Abed Bwanika and Joyce Bagala as chairperson and deputy chairperson of the Parliament’s Standing Committee on Government Assurance.


The opposition had appointed them for a two-and-a-half-year term, but the opposition chief whip, John Baptist Nambeshe, sought to replace them with Joseph Ssewungu and Betty Ethel Naluyima.


However, the Speaker maintained that the leadership of standing committees is fixed for two and a half years, and therefore, the changes are not acceptable.


The leader of the opposition, Joel Ssenyonyi, defended the proposed changes, but the Speaker’s decision stood unchallenged.


This follows the National Resistance Movement’s Central Executive Committee’s decision to drop all their Committee heads.


After the Government Chief Whip Hamson Obusa was done with designating NRM MPs to the Committee, Nambeshe followed suit with the opposition lists.


Elijah Okupa of Kasilo County questioned the chief whip as to why he was rushing to standing committees before the house was done with sectoral committees.


The Kimanya-Kibonero MP (Bwanika) and his Mityana District Women counterpart  (Baagala) have been at loggerheads with the leadership of the National Unity Platform (NUP) party.



Thursday 20th June 2024 03:52:21 PM