By; Charles Katabalwa

16th Oct. 2020

The Electoral Commission has so far received eight of 86 presidential aspirants who have submitted the required signatures to the Electoral Commission (EC) as the deadline ends today October 16, 2020. 

Each candidate according to the EC spokes person Paul Bukenya has to collect 100 signatures from two-thirds of the total number of districts in the country as a precondition for their nomination.

It is not clear whether the remaining 82 presidential aspirants will return the forms before the deadline.

Some of the notable Opposition aspirants, who had not returned forms yesterday, include Robert Kyagulanyi, aka Bobi Wine (National Unity Platform), Democratic Party (DP)’s Nobert Mao, Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)’s Patrick Oboi Amuriat, and Maj Gen Mugisha Muntu of the Alliance for National Transformation (ANT) party.

NUP party on Tuesday was raided by security, the police and army at their headquarters in Kamwokya and its claimed that they took their 7 million signatures that had been collected according to the party spokesperson Joel Ssenyonyi.

Bukenya says by yesterday, only President Museveni (National Resistance Movement, Gen Henry Tumukunde (Independent); Charles Bbale (Ecological Party of Uganda) Willy  Mayambala, Simon Ebintu, Robert Mutono and Fred Mwesigye and Ms Elizabeth Lugudde, who is an Independent candidate, had  submitted their forms.

Saturday 17th October 2020 07:00:14 AM