By; Ben Musanje

23rd Nov. 2020

Registration of all willing non unionised workers at sub county, town council and municipality level kicks off on Wednesday 25th November 202 to Friday 27th November 2020.

This is in line with the amendment of section 8G (1) of the parliamentary election amendment Act 2015 that provides that five workers representatives to parliament shall be elected by an electoral college constituted by delegates drawn from registered labour unions and ten delegates representing non unionised workers in each of the 4regions in the country like central, Eastern, Northern and western.

Speaking to the press at the Uganda media centre the permanent secretary of the ministry of gender labour and social development Aggrey Kibenge noted that those registered will convene a conference at town council, Sub County and the municipality to enable the electoral commission to conduct elections of 10 non unionised workers on Friday 4th December 2020.

He also noted that eligible members to be registered must be a citizen of Uganda aged 18years and above ,has a national identity card ,a registered voter with proof ,employed and a verifiable employment contract ,holds an employment identity card and not a member of a registered labour union .

Monday 23rd November 2020 12:55:14 PM