By Francis Lubega

19th June 2024


Parliament has designated new committee members on the parliamentary Sectoral committee for the next two and half years. 


In today’s reshuffle MP Mwine Mpaka also Mbarara South Division has been dropped as Chairperson Trade and Tourism Committee, while Boniface Okot (Youth Northern Region) has been named as Vice Chairperson, although the Chairperson to this Committee hasn’t been designated.


Also MP Moses Hassim Magogo (Budiope East County) has been dropped as Chairperson ICT and National Guidance Committee, although his former deputy, Tonny Ayoo (Kwania County) has retained his slot as Vice Chairperson. Magogo’s replacement wasn’t named during designation.


Abim district woman Hon. Janet Okori-Moe has been dropped as Chairperson Agriculture Committee and replaced by her former Deputy, Linda Agnes Auma who is now going to be deputized by Hope Grania Nakazibwe (Mubende DWR)


NRM party also dropped kibaale district woman mp Noeline Kisembo Basemera and Abdi Fadhir Kisos Chemaswet (Soi County) from the top leadership of the Committee on East African Affairs, replacing the duo with kalaki district woman mp Jeniffer Ayoo Nalukwago who will be deputized by Bukoto mid East mp Isaac Ssejoba.


Nyabusosi county mp Wilson Kajwengye and Kibanda North MP  Linos Ngompek have been maintained on the top leadership of the parliamentary Defence and Internal Affairs Committee.


Bunyaruguru county mp John Ntamuhira Twesigye was dropped as Chairperson Committee of Education and Sports, and no replacement has been named, although James Kubeketerya (Bunya County East) has maintained his slot as Vice Chairperson.


Rwampara county mp Amos Kankunda retained his position as Chairperson, Finance Committee, his former deputy; Jane Pacuto Avur has been dropped and replaced by Chekwii county mp Moses as the new Vice Chairperson.


Norah Bigirwa has also been dropped as Chairperson Foreign Affairs Committee and replaced with Omoro district woman MP Catherine Lamwaka , who has been the Vice Chairperson, Trade and Tourism Committee.


Fred Opolot has been maintained as the Vice Chairperson of Foreign Affairs Committee.


The leadership of the Committee on Gender, Labour and Social Development led by Flavia Kabahenda and her deputy, Sarah Najjuma have all been dropped and replaced with Rosemary Nyakikongoro and Sowedi Kintanywa (Busongora North mp


Charles Ayume has been dropped as Chairperson Health Committee, although no replacement has been made on who will head this Committee. However, Samuel Acuti Opio (Kole North County) has retained his position as Vice Chairperson.


Both Robina Gureme Rwakoojo (Gomba West County) and Yusuf Mutembuli (Bunyole East County) have lost their leadership positions on the Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee.


John Teira (Bugabula County North) has been named as the new Vice Chairperson, although the person going to steer this Committee hasn’t yet been designated.


Gov’t also dropped Emmanuel Otiam Otaala (West Budama South County) and Nathan Igeme Nabeta (Jinja South Division) and Chairperson and Vice Chairperson on the Committee of Environment and Natural Resources.


MP Feta Geoffrey (Ayivu East) will steer this Committee as Vice Chairperson in the meantime, as Parliament waits for the Chairperson to be named.


Dan Kimosho (Kazo County) and Tony Awany (Nwoya County) have retained their positions as Chairperson and Vice Chairperson respectively, on the Physical Infrastructure Committee.


Gov’t also dropped MP Jesca Ababiku (DWR Adjumani) who has for long held the top leadership of Presidential Affairs Committee, and Naome Kabasharira (Rushenyi County) former Vice Chairperson, but the new leadership to this Committee wasn’t designated, save for its members.


Although Martin Mapenduzi Ojara (Bardege-Layibi Division) has retained his position as Chairperson, Committee of Public Service and Local Government, his former deputy Christine Apolot (DWR Kumi) wasn’t lucky, after she was dropped, but her replacement wasn’t named during the designation.


Thursday 20th June 2024 03:55:47 PM